Economic development group appoints new directors

Kamloops Daily News
November 13, 2012 01:00 AM

The New Pathways to Gold Society, a community-based economic development group, has appointed three new board members.

New board members are: Chief Don Harris, elected and hereditary chief of the Xa'xta (Douglas) Nation; Roy Christopher, who has a background in band administration and economic development; and Irvine Johnson, a Secwepemc historian and storyteller who also serves as a treaty negotiator.

The society's board is half aboriginal, half non-aboriginal. The organization is dedicated to investment in heritage in communities along the Gold Rush/Spirit Trails, a region that includes the western part of the Thompson/Okanagan tourism region.

Other board members include former Lytton mayor Chris O'Connor, Kamloops museum supervisor Elisabeth Duckworth and former Skeetchestn chief Ron Ignace.

© Copyright 2015 Kamloops Daily News

Email to a Friend


Popular Kamloops News