Schuetze, Kok saluted as TRU's top athletes

Kamloops Daily News
March 23, 2012 01:00 AM

An incredible season for TRU women's basketball player Diane Schuetze ended with her being named the WolfPack's female athlete of the year.

Schuetze, a fourth-year post out of Vernon, was recognized at TRU's annual awards banquet at the school's Grand Hall. Basketball player Chas Kok was named male athlete of the year.

Schuetze broke a lot of ground for the WolfPack this season. She helped Scott Reeves' hoopsters clinch their first Canada West postseason berth, and earned a spot on the CIS second all-star team - the first time a WolfPack women's basketball player has earned such an honour.

To get recognized by her athletic department really capped the season nicely.

"Personally, I thought it was a pretty good year," said Schuetze, in something of an understatement. "I have to thank my teammates and coaches - I wouldn't have been able to get this far without them.

"Next year, there's always room for improvement."

Also nominated for top female athlete were badminton's Anica Arduini, cross-country running's Rolena DeBruyn, volleyball's Katarina Osadchuk and soccer's Alanna Bekkering.

Kok was up against soccer's Adam Dodgson, baseball's Kyle Sandulescu, hockey's Andrew Fisher, volleyball's Colin Carson and runner Josh Oostenbrink.

Kok was one of the hardest workers in the WolfPack athletic department, as he was among the conference's leaders in minutes played, scoring and offensive rebounds in his final CIS season.

"It's kind of surreal - I didn't think I was going to win it," Kok said. "Just to be nominated is an amazing feeling, with all the hard work I put in and all the people who put hard work into my game."

Soccer's Ashley Piggot and baseball's Alex Condon earned the Dr. Roger H. Barnsley Scholar/Athlete Award, which combines a 3.5 GPA with on-field success. Both players won the same honour after the 2010-11 season.

The TRU Sports Task Awards, which, according to a press release, "go to athletes who not only have good grades and contribute on the field, ice or court, but also are involved in a lot of community activities," went to basketball's Jen Ju and hockey player Andrew Fisher.

Badminton coach Brad Pape, who is retiring after 28 seasons, was given the TRU WolfPack Appreciation Award.

A new award, named in honour of baseball player Tyler Lowey, was established Thursday, and Lowey was the winner. Lowey lost his right eye after fouling a pitch into it during a game in the fall, but has fought his way back on to the WolfPack's lineup.

It was an emotional scene when Lowey's parents, who had come in from Calgary for the event, surprised him on stage. Baseball head coach Ray Chadwick gave a nice speech before the award, and Lowey himself spoke to the crowd.

The athletic department also honoured its graduating players - Kia Lidster, Marlee Mertens and Garrett Babichuk (badminton); Tanner Gainer, Brock Stewart, Jimmy Semaschuk, Denver Wynn, Rob Morrison, Mike Juarez and Lowey (baseball); Piggot, Dodgson and Conor Doherty (soccer); Fisher, David Gore, Cody Lockwood, Kyle Allen, Jassi Sangha, Thomas Gobeil and Dylan Becker (hockey); Michelle Dimond, Kailey Colonna, Kaitlyn Widsten and Kok (basketball); Amanda Frayne, Kelly Asleson, Vanessa Wiebe, Mike Hawkins and Aleks Saddlemyer (volleyball).

For a complete list of nominees and winners, visit

© Copyright 2015 Kamloops Daily News

Email to a Friend


Popular Kamloops News