Koch helps OHA to KIBIHT title

For the fourth time in five years, the Tier 1 champion of the Kamloops International Bantam Ice Hockey Tournament comes from a school in the Okanagan.

But, instead of Kelowna's Pursuit of Excellence, this year's champion comes from the Okanagan Hockey Academy in Penticton, which knocked off the Vancouver Thunderbirds 5-1 on Sunday at McArthur Island Sport and Event Centre. POE had won three of the previous four KIBIHT titles, with the Kamloops Jardine's Blazers beating it in the 2011 final.

Davis Koch had three goals in Sunday's final, his third goal giving OHA a 4-0 lead before the halfway point of the second period. OHA's Jordan Fidanza scored in the first period and Beck Malenstyn, who also had three assists, scored a third-period goal.

Aris Anagnostopoulos was the winning goaltender. Adam Riddell was in goal for Vancouver, and Tyson Lin scored for the Thunderbirds.

The Jardine's Blazers won their final two games to finish fifth in the Tier 1 division.

The Blazers took out the Richmond Blues 4-1 on Saturday morning. Spencer Eschyschyn was the winning goaltender, and was helped by goals from Cody Allen, Alexander Buchanan, Reade Bentz and Tre Dupilka-Sales.

Graham Lynn opened the scoring for the Blues, who had Jordan Allen in goal.

Dupilka-Sales scored in overtime as the Blazers beat Kelowna's Pursuit of Excellence 6-5 on Saturday night. Dario Piva and Brendan Semchuk had a goal and two helpers in the victory, and Garrett Ewert, Bentz and Tyler Ward also scored in regulation.

Eschyschyn was the winning goaltender, and Allen had two assists.

Ralph Jarratt and Zackari Andrusiakl each scored twice for POE, which got a single from Dallas Goodwin and goaltending from Brock Leach-Moore.


The North Shore Winter Club won the Tier 2 title with a 5-2 victory over the Mission Stars on Sunday.

Ethan De Jong scored twice in the first period for NSWC, and Alex Uryga and Angus Crookshank had given it a 4-0 lead after two periods. Jamie Housch scored twice - both assisted by Nathan McKeigan - for Mission, but Erik Frezell iced the victory in the final three minutes.

David Tendeck was the winning goaltender, and Justin Lee had two assists. Chad Cromar and Jackson Pekeski split Mission's goaltending.

The Player's Bench Predators finished the tournament with a 5-4 loss to the Calgary Bruins on Saturday.

Tony Dennis scored twice for the Predators, who had Reid Gladman in goal, and Rylan Van Unen and Rylan Douglas each had a goal. Bennett Hunter helped out with two assists.

Zoe DeBeauville backstopped the Bruins, with James Pond, Julian Benner, Paul Evanson, Jake Gilliss and Lane Gilliss scoring for Calgary.

© Copyright 2018 Kamloops Daily News