Sports Briefs: Windsor rink joins curling title chase

Brian Windsor and his Kamloops rink begin pursuit of the 2012 Canadian Direct Insurance B.C. men's curling championship today in Parksville.

The 16-team competition starts today at 9 a.m.

For the first time in its history, the championship is to follow a triple-knockout format and will conclude with a four-team Page playoff. This is a change from last year when a 10-team round-robin was followed by a Page playoff.

The switch has enabled organizers to shorten the length of the event by two days.

The Windsor rink includes third Brad Thompson, second Mike Smith and lead Adam Windsor, who is Brian's son.

Competing are rinks skipped by Jim Cotter of Kelowna, Brent Pierce, Ken McArdle, Jay Peachey and Chris Baier of Royal City in New Westminster, Tom Buchy of Kimberley, Tom Shypitka of Creston, Darren Heath of Vernon, Ron Vanderstar of Smithers, Sean Geall of Delta, Steve Waatainen of Nanaimo, Jody Epp, Neil Dangerfield and Jay Tuson of Victoria, and Waylie Eden of Penticton.

Cotter, who used to curl out of Kamloops, is skipping the defending champions. He has Kevin Folk at third, Tyrel Griffith at second and Rick Sawatsky at lead. Cotter beat Dangerfield in last year's final.

The field features three other former B.C. champions - Pierce, the 2000 world champion, Peachey, who won the province in 2004, and Geall, who won in 2009.

Shaw Cable is scheduled to televise Saturday's semifinal, at 7:30 p.m., and Sunday's final, at 5 p.m.
The winner will advance to the Tim Hortons Brier in Saskatoon, March 3-11.

* * *

A Kamoops rink skipped by Vivian MacDonald has qualified to play in the B.C. women's masters curling championship in Grand Forks, March 1-4.

The MacDonald rink, which includes third Susan Shaw, second Elizabeth Saboe and lead Pam Jones, plays out of both the McArthur Island and Kamloops clubs.

Interestingly, Saboe's husband, Wayne, skips a rink that has qualified for the B.C. men's masters championship. It, too, will be held in Grand Forks, March 1-4.

* * *

Andrew Copeland of Kamloops was one of 67 players selected in the Western Lacrosse Association's seven-team draft of 2011 graduating juniors on Monday.

Copeland, a goaltender who played for the Kamloops Venom, was selected by the Burnaby Lakers with the third pick of the ninth round.

* * *

The Interior Grasslands Cycling Club has scheduled its annual general meeting for Friday, 7 p.m., in Room C at the Tournament Capital Centre. Anyone interested in cycling is welcome.

* * *

Brody Osborne scored two goals Monday night, leading the Autobots to a 6-1 victory over the Warriors in a KMHA midget recreational game.

Dallas Stachoski, Lucas Kemp, Brendan Ruttan and Chad McQueen also scored for the winners, who had Michael Clements in goal. Justin Bartella and Marcus Bonnell each had two assists.

The Warriors got their goal from Jordan Kealty.

© Copyright 2018 Kamloops Daily News